What is Medi-Cal?  A Timely NYT Opinion Piece. (NEWCU)

NEWCU = News Eligibility Workers Can Use

…also… Medi-Cal is what we in California call the federal program Medicaid.

Between posts, I work as county Department of Health and Human Services employee where I help administer Medicaid in Humboldt County by determining eligibility.

I wanted to make a quick post to share Alice Wong’s piece  in today’s New York Times because:

a) is a first-hand account of one person discovering that public assistance is a right that she has as a member of our society and the freedom that understanding allows, and

b) it does a great job of explaining what Medicaid and Medi-Cal are and other important associated programs such as the Medicaid Working Disabled Program and In-Home Supportive Services, and

c) there is a well deserved kudos to California social services as  the writer describes why she had to move from her home in Indiana to come here.

Liberty and justice for all indeed!

My Medicaid, My Life

   by Alice Wong (New York Times | May 3, 2017)

“I graduated from high school in 1992, two years after the Americans With Disabilities Act was passed. Learning about disability history and realizing I was a member of a protected class encouraged me to imagine and create the life that I want. Once I got over myself and realized I had a right to Medicaid, it made a difference immediately.

This past March marked my 25th year of being a recipient of Medicaid. When I was young, I felt shame and embarrassment at being one of “those people” on benefits. Today I am unapologetically disabled and a fully engaged member of society. None of that would be possible without Medicaid.

Every day I resist forces that label me as the Other or a scapegoat for society’s problems. With the disability community, I share our stories and speak out against threats to our future by using my privilege and tools such as social media. I hope my story will continue for decades to come.”

Leave a Reply

