Filing for Eureka City Council Begins Today…

…and ends August 5th.

From City Clerk’s page here,

The next regular municipal election in the City of Eureka will be November 8, 2016 to fill the following elective offices:
  City Council – Ward 2
City Council – Ward 4
The Nomination period to file for offices is July 18, 2014 through August 5, 2016.  Nomination forms can be obtained at the City Clerk’s office

What this means is today when the office opens will be the first time that prospective candidates may pick up the paperwork required to file with the City.  This will include gathering 20 signatures.

I’ll be picking up the packet after work today.

So if you know anyone who would be willing to run against John Fullerton and possibly Melinda Ciarabellini in the Forth – OR- if you know someone who lives in the 2nd who would given likely candidate Matthew Owen a run and would be someone who would follow in Linda Atkins’s very formidable footsteps please let me know.  My number is (707) 496-5311.

I haven’t been able to give organizing a campaign the focus it deserves I was hoping to have a leave of absence or limited hours granted, but this was not in the cards due to program needs.

Therefore, if I am going to give this part-time job as a Councilperson a run with a the type of campaign I feel Eureka residents deserve, then I will be putting in my two week’s notice with my current employer, Humboldt’s Department of Health and Human Services today.

If you are thinking about a run for the Second and you are someone who could defeat a candidate such as the rumored Matthew Owen and could be endorsed by those who have worked on the Bernie Campaign please do call me by noon today.

For the rest of Humboldt residents, if you know someone in Eureka who would consider a run for the Forth, it’s go time.  I’d love to hear from you or the candidate as I would love to share campaign resources.

No matter the election, those satisfying the status quo seem to find a candidate to run without fail.  We left-of-center folks haven’t been as fortunate, organized or motivated.  I’m hoping we can point to November 2016 as the election we were able to reverse this fundamentally undemocratic trend.  We in Humboldt and Eureka deserve at the very least a functioning democracy.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Filing for Eureka City Council Begins Today…

  1. You are quitting your job to run for office? Why. That isn’t needed. I worked 12 hour night shifts and still left open 4 hours a day to walk. That is enough. “Don’t quit your day job!”

    1. MOLA42 says:

      I have to agree… going unemployed for a speculative run toward a part time job does not sound like a good idea to me.

      But, you know your situation better than I (or Mr. Marks) so if that is what you want to do, then good luck with that.

      I wish you success.

Leave a Reply

