Linda’s Back! Eureka Progressive Democrat Meeting This Thurs.

And with her the Eureka Progressive Democrats Club.  Come one, come all.  Thursday at 7:00 HCDCC hq at 129 5th St.  Here is an email from Linda . . .

“A reminder to let you know that the Club will be meeting this coming Thursday July 24th at 7pm in order to plan what we’d like to do for this Fall’s Eureka City Council Elections. Please come and get involved (and bring a friend!).”

Do you like your Democrat with a little less added Republican?   This is a great place to start.  June was a valiant but ultimately unsuccessful attempt to extract money’s grip from the people’s chairs behind the dais – at least at the County level.  It’s time to pull up our collective boot straps and get back to work to try to return at least the City’s seats to their rightful owners – the people.

And for those that remember 1992 as the Year of the Woman, it looks like November could be our HumCo equivalent.

And … In order to not appear unfair, I do want to stand up for men.  I think someone needs to think about running against Marian Brady in Eureka’s First Ward.  If, for no other reason to insure some semblance of gender equality on the Eureka City on November 4th.  Actually, now that I think, about it another woman candidate running against Council Member Brady would be just fine with me too.

So, plenty to do progressives, get out there and shake some hands.  All three candidates above will be looking for volunteers (and probably money too).  Also, don’t forget about the Fair Wage Folks.  Regular meetings are Tuesdays at 6:15 PM.  See you all out there.

Adding a widget – last day for someone to stand up against Marian Brady in Eureka’s 1st Ward- August 8th.  Are you interested?  Please call the City Clerk’s Office at (707) 441-4175.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Linda’s Back! Eureka Progressive Democrat Meeting This Thurs.

  1. Mary Ella Anderson says:

    I don’t live in Arcata but I have a great deal of admiration for Linda. I happened to be at a Crabs game and sitting near a male Eureka City Council members who stated that he had met one of the “girls” running for council and in his opinion she “didn’t have a clue.” I’m not sure what the clue would have led to, what wisdom or situation might have discovered as a result of “having a clue.” One can only speculate. Was it the unalterably good ol’ boy nature of local politics, perhaps.

    I am very glad that so many young women are stepping forward to take on leadership. I believe it’s time for that generation to lead us in a new direction.

    1. “I am very glad that so many young women are stepping forward to take on leadership. I believe it’s time for that generation to lead us in a new direction.”

      I couldn’t agree more. – oh and Linda is amazing. I shutter when I think what Eureka would be like without her energy and perspective.

  2. Mary Ella Anderson says:

    Woops! I see I made a mistake!! I meant to say I don’t live in Eureka. We’ve got good candidates running for the council in Arcata as well. Time to pay attention and get involved.

Leave a Reply

