Mea Culpa John Chiv

St. Bernard's pre-dawn 1/2/13
St. Bernard’s pre-dawn 1/2/13

I was planning a much different post on the heinous murder of  St. Bernard’s Rev. Eric Freed.  Unfortunately I need to add a personal apology to John Chiv.  I ran into John yesterday then again this morning.  Yesterday we had a short conversation I thought nothing more about until this morning when John and I accidentally crossed paths again.  John expressed his clear anger because I added politics to this community tragedy and his very personal loss by bringing up the death penalty and the Catholic Church’s stance against it.  My point was much different than was taken and most probably expressed.

John, I apologize.

What I was hoping to express, in this post, was my deep commiseration with both Catholics and our community.  We have more than our fair share of violent crime in our small community.  This one is particularly painful because a huge segment of Eureka’s population lost someone akin to a family member.   Also, the community at large lost a great man for no reason other than a totally senseless, and deeply troubling murder.

My thoughts may ring hollow, especially to you John Chiv.  I hope you can forgive me for my untimely and ill chosen words and understand that this loss is felt deeply by many others, myself included, who did not share the good fortune of knowing Rev. Freed.

Rest in peace Reverend Freed.  You will be missed.  What is quite clear in the few days since this unimaginable tragedy and crime is your good will and impact will ripple through our community for many years in to come.

3 thoughts on “Mea Culpa John Chiv

  1. jchiv says:

    Jon, thank you for your apology. In my personal reflection I addressed some comments and some people. If they show half the compassion and take responsibility like you did it would be a welcome surprise.

    You show a lot of class with . I wish I could have responded earlier. You are the only person that I have differing opinions with today that reached out and thank you for that kindness.

  2. Matthew says:

    Content removed by lj. Those comments would have been fine (if not exactly appreciated) at another time. Not now.

  3. John- Thank you for your kind words too. Kindness is important, especially during times like this and I did not intend to fall short of that standard at the cafe. There is a time and place for everything. Now is not a time for politics and I understand that. It’s a time for grief, mourning, anger, and trying to wrap our heads around what happened. It is not easy and anyone who has experienced a sudden loss understands this. Especially under the absolute worst possible circumstances such as this.

    It’s a mind-numbing, completely unnecessary act of violence against a man who was vulnerable specifically because he was here to serve others.

Leave a Reply

